RSS

CMS Report - Keyword: review

  • 5 tips for promoting Magento products

    5 tips for promoting Magento products

    The main aim of any Magento store owner is to sell his products, and for that just to place them on the pages of your site is not enough. Selling is usually a result of promoting as it is the only way to let customers know about new goods and new brands available at your store. Promotion process can’t be chaotic: you need to have a strategy to follow. Amasty Team offers you 5 tips to start with to get your products promoted.

    By Amasty
    Posted: September 15, 2014

  • Avoiding Pitfalls: Common Mistakes Made When Implementing A CMS For Your Website

    Avoiding Pitfalls: Common Mistakes Made When Implementing A CMS For Your Website

    By using a Content Management System (CMS) web application; the creation, customization, and management of your website information becomes faster and much easier. You no longer need to master the web programming language just to be able to edit, preview, and publish content and web elements to your blog such as texts, animations, images, and video content. That is why a lot of businesses are now considering the need to leverage a CMS solution for their online presence.

    CMS software applications come in various types and are offered by different vendors -- proprietary CMS tools hosted by web IT companies and open source systems such as Wordpress, Joomla, and Drupal. Not choosing the ideal CMS and not implementing the solution wisely can cause trouble once your website is officially launched. These pitfalls include slow speed, no available updates and support, the tendency of getting hacked (due to unsecure framework), and frustrations brought about by not meeting the expectations and demands of your business.

    To avoid these pitfalls, we’ll discuss with you the top mistakes you must avoid when choosing and implementing a CMS solution.

     

    By Kyle H. Albert
    Posted: May 06, 2014

  • My CMS-Connected Review of Magnolia CMS

    My CMS-Connected Review of Magnolia CMS

    I've been so busy lately that I haven't had time to put out a plug for my review of the Magnolia CMS on CMS-Connected last month. This was probably one of the easiest shows I've done in the sense that the Internet connection was good and the rest of the show seemed to complement my own segment well. My thanks to Boris Kraft, Co-Founder and Chief Technology Officer for Magnolia, for briefing me well about their product and spending some extra time with me during the demo.

    By Bryan Ruby
    Posted: March 25, 2014

  • Put this one on your radar: Microweber CMS

    Put this one on your radar: Microweber CMS

    Whenever a content management system first appears on my screen, I always look at whether the developers' initial claims are true. In this case, I'm looking at Microweber and its claim that their software offers a "new generation" CMS with "cool features and innovative concepts".  Given that most of the software development in Microweber CMS is recent, from 2012 to present, the goals and claims are ambitious. Impressively, the CMS has already been translated into seven languages so far by its contributors. As word about this CMS beings to spread globally, it's time to dig a little deeper into Microweber.

    By Bryan Ruby
    Posted: March 12, 2014

  • Weebly Review: A Worthy WordPress Challenger

    Weebly Review: A Worthy WordPress Challenger

    For a simple corporate website, brand site or web store, Weebly is an exceptional tool and worth a look. I don’t know of any CMS, including WordPress, that comes close to this level of usability and functionality for the price.

    By Michael Assad
    Posted: January 02, 2014

  • CMS Report's Top Ten Content Management Stories of 2013

    CMS Report's Top Ten Content Management Stories of 2013

    A constant worry of mine as CMS Report's editor is that we won't have enough articles to publish and give you reason to visit this little site of ours. Luckily, authors and contributors with interest in content management systems constantly prove that such my worries are unnecessary. This year almost 900 articles were submitted to CMS Report. I can't tell you how grateful I am for every article that was submitted to our site. Of those 900 submissions, we deemed only 300 of those articles worthy to publish based on quality of the writing and whether we felt the story was of interest to our readers.

    So do you want to know which CMS stories were the best of the best? Below are the top ten stories of 2013 that we posted here at CMSReport.com. The stories in this list are ranked based on the rate they were viewed since the article first appeared online.

    By Bryan Ruby
    Posted: December 30, 2013

  • The WordPress vs Joomla vs Drupal Infographic

    The WordPress vs Joomla vs Drupal Infographic

    Years ago, I quickly discovered there was great public interest in comparisons of open source content management systems such as Drupal and Joomla. When you throw WordPress into the mix and you can attract an even greater audience. Despite how much traffic such headlines draw people in, CMS Report has been pretty selective when we provide or point to such articles. There is some uncertainty whether there is genuine value being provided in feature comparison articles which is why I've shied away from them in recent years.

    Mike Assad, former CEO of Agility Inc., once told me that in his experience feature lists are rarely used to select your CMS but instead such lists are mostly used to justify the choice you've already made. There is some truth to that, because when selecting a CMS it is more a question of whether a CMS meets your needs and less about the quantity of features it provides.

    The most difficult comparison articles for reviewers to write are those that don't pick winners or losers but instead helps readers to pick a CMS for themselves. I believe Robert Mening, WebSiteSetup.org, shared this goal in his own.comparison of WordPress, Joomla, and Drupal. Robert provides both an article and the following infographic in his comparison of the big three CMSs

     

    By Bryan Ruby
    Posted: December 27, 2013

  • How bigger & faster drives, encryption, and new malware impacted data recovery in 2013

    The continuing proliferation of new drive types and the ever-growing problem of malware were among the biggest trends impacting the data recovery industry in 2013, according to year-end information from data recovery and e-disclosure products and services provider Kroll Ontrack. The trends further underscore the need for businesses and consumers to understand how evolving technology affects their ability to protect and recover critical data.

    By RealWire
    Posted: December 18, 2013

  • My review of e-Spirit's FirstSpirit CMS

    My review of e-Spirit's FirstSpirit CMS

    In September's CMS-Connected show, I once again had the privilege of being a guest reviewer for their "CMS In the Spotlight" segment. This time around I reviewed e-Spirit's FirstSpirit CMS. Never heard of it? Honestly, I hadn't either until CMS-Connected Producer Gary Eisenstein assigned me the gig. Come to find out, FirstSpirit CMS helps run a number of international sites from companies like Bosch, KLM, Speedo, Sterling Jewelers, and Nintendo of Europe. While doing my homework, I walked away from the demo impressed with the amount of effort e-Spirit had done to improve usability for authors and editors.

    On a personal note, I've heard a number of people praising my performance in this September show. I don't do well with praise so to tell you the truth I think I did just "average" for this one. I'll let you decide on this one. Embedded below is my segment from last month's CMS-Connected. Once you do watch this segment, be sure and check out the complete show at CMS-Connected. I especially encourage you to watch the segment with Sprout Content's very smart Dechay Eaton Watts.

    By Bryan Ruby
    Posted: October 06, 2013

  • The CMS-Connected Review of Liferay Video

    The CMS-Connected Review of Liferay Video

    I had the privileged of reviewing Liferay Portal for CMS-Connected's "In the Spotlight" segment. This is the first time, I've done a show with new co-host Butch Sterns. The end result is what I think is a great question and answer review of Liferay's products followed by Scott Liewehr's analyst perspective of Liferay the company. In the show, I talked about Liferay Portal and Liferay Social Office. I also had a chance to briefly mention Liferay Sync.

    By Bryan Ruby
    Posted: August 06, 2013

Copyright CMS Report 2006 - 2014