RSS

Opinion and Editorial at CMS Report

  • Ambulance Chasing: A Social Media Success Story

    Ambulance Chasing: A Social Media Success Story

    Since childhood, I've always been fascinated by the ambulance chasing lawyer commercials you see on television. The commercials include the personal injury lawyers that provide legal representation to those who claim to have been injured, physically or psychologically, as a result of the negligence or wrongdoing of somebody else. In TV shows and movies, they're the lawyers in the polyester suits spending their time convincing clients they should be compensated for their personal injury. In real life, I believe them to be more respectable and professional than the stereotype allows. What I find fascinating is, love them or hate them, the commercials work. Those trial lawyers receive almost instant name recognition through their pitch on television.

    But when it comes to social media, do we really want people selling us their products and services based on our personal tragedies?

    By Bryan Ruby
    Posted August 31, 2015

  • Why More Health Care Organizations Are Turning to SaaS Solutions

    Why More Health Care Organizations Are Turning to SaaS Solutions

    There’s no denying it: The cloud has become an integral part of the health care delivery system. According to one recent survey, 83 percent of all health care organizations are using cloud-based services, with the vast majority of those services Software as a Service (SaaS) applications.

    This represents a marked increase over the past few years, where health care organizations expressed reluctance to take advantage of the cloud due to concerns about security, regulatory compliance issues, and questions about functionality during implementation. In fact, the same survey found that only 6 percent of health care organizations have no plans to leverage the cloud in any way.

    So why the sudden shift? To answer that question, you have to start by looking at how providers are using SaaS solutions.

    By CMS Report
    Posted August 27, 2015

  • The 2015 WordPress vs Joomla vs Drupal Infographic

    The 2015 WordPress vs Joomla vs Drupal Infographic

    When it comes to content management systems, there are three very popular names. There is WordPress, Drupal, and Joomla. Each of course has their own pros and cons, but which one is best? If you ask a hundred different people, you will answers from all across the board. 

    Jamie from makeawebsitehub.com has created a comparison of these "three big CMS beasts". We've attached the infographic at the bottom of this article, but you can also visit Jamie's website for an image with higher resolution. 

    By Bryan Ruby
    Posted August 25, 2015

  • CMS Security 2015: Top 5 Security Tools for WordPress, Drupal, and Joomla

    CMS Security 2015: Top 5 Security Tools for WordPress, Drupal, and Joomla

    WordPress, Drupal, and Joomla power three-fourths of the world’s CMS-based websites. Here are a few simple steps and a list of favorite security add-ons to help keep your website secure.

    By CMS Report
    Posted August 06, 2015

  • A Look at WordPress and Drupal for Creating Websites

    A Look at WordPress and Drupal for Creating Websites

    It goes without saying that both WordPress and Drupal are two of the biggest open-source content management systems available today. It’s also well known that WordPress has garnered a bigger user base since its inception in 2003, with a current user base that’s nearly 10 times that of Drupal.

    Just like every other technical debate, there are proponents and opponents to each side. And for web designers who have yet to form an opinion or make a decision, there are compelling arguments for and against each platform. However, rather than consider popularity only, a wiser scheme might be to examine how each CMS performs against the key design factors, and then make the best decision for each client’s business, away from any personal biases.

    Ultimately, the debate can be condensed into the level of user skill. Drupal comes with more features, making it an awesome platform if you know how to navigate around it, but there is also a higher learning curve that some find frustrating. WordPress, on the other hand, is much simpler to navigate, use and customize, but has less features. Let’s examine a few factors in detail.

    By CMS Report
    Posted July 10, 2015

  • The Promising Future of the Internet of Things in India

    The Promising Future of the Internet of Things in India

    The Internet of Things (IoT) is lauded by most as the next great revolution in technology. A world where every object we use has a sensor, enabling it to connect to the internet so it can communicate with each other and the user is a world that seems like something out of science-fiction. With the Internet of Things fast approaching, that world could become a reality very soon. Experts estimate that the IoT market could be worth as much as $1.7 trillion by 2020, with more than 50 billion devices connecting to the IoT by that time. But where will much of that growth come from? The U.S. is always near the forefront of technological developments, and China is in the middle of a massive economic expansion, but some are saying India will be the place to look for IoT growth, even becoming the largest consumer of IoT devices in five years. While some dispute the claims, it’s clear the future is bright for the IoT in India.

    By Rick Delgado
    Posted July 10, 2015

  • Six Reasons Why Salesforce.com Cloud Solutions are Doing So Well

    Six Reasons Why Salesforce.com Cloud Solutions are Doing So Well

    As more and more businesses go for cloud computing, it is inevitable that many companies will offer cloud computing solutions. Salesforce.com is an industry leader when it comes to cloud computing solutions. There are several reasons for this.

    By CMS Report
    Posted July 01, 2015

  • Off Topic: Starting my Summer with the Blossom Smart Watering Controller

    Off Topic: Starting my Summer with the Blossom Smart Watering Controller

    Spring brought to South Dakota plenty of rain. The lawns are green, the flowers are in full bloom, and it seems we can't go beyond a couple days without a rain shower or thunderstorm. While water is usually plenty for my city, we do things smart around here and restrict water usage for our lawns year round. It's not uncommon in my part of the country to see the weather pattern quickly change from wet to dry. What once was green can turn brown in a hurry.

    If you want a green yard when summer is in full swing, you will do best to respect the water restrictions and program your sprinkler controller the smartest way possible. Here in my city, watering lawns is not allowed during the hours of 12 p.m to 5 PM. Homeowners with even-numbered addresses may water lawns on even-numbered calendar dates and users with odd-numbered addresses may water lawns on odd-numbered calendar dates. Last summer though, my traditional sprinkler controller decided this responsibility was too much of a burden. The failing controller couldn't even keep the time of day correctly yet alone maintain an ideal watering schedule. So this May, I replaced my failing controller with Blossom's Smart Watering Controller in hopes of a greener lawn and a better sprinkler system.

    By Bryan Ruby
    Posted June 24, 2015

  • Benefits and Downsides to Consider When Choosing an Open Source or Proprietary CMS

    Benefits and Downsides to Consider When Choosing an Open Source or Proprietary CMS

    The market has a wide variety of content management systems that have different capabilities. Some content management systems are designed with a particular end in mind.

    There are a lot of arguments for and against open source and proprietary CMSs. Depending on your budget abilities, the size of your company and rules governing compliance in your company, you might opt for a proprietary CMS. But if your organization is small, you might opt for an open source CMS.

    Below are more details on the pros and cons of both proprietary and open source CMSs.

    By CMS Report
    Posted June 10, 2015

  • The eZ Publish Show: Don't forget about Editor Experience

    The eZ Publish Show: Don't forget about Editor Experience

    Last week, we started a conversation on The ez Publish Show hosted by Netgen's Ivo Lukač. The we included Ivo, Digital Clarity's Marianne Kay and myself. The odd question that started the conversation: Did modern CMSs sacrifice good editor experience (EX) for improving customer experience?

    I'm not sure how well we answered the question, but it is a question that acknowledges that while CXM may get a lot of attention these days in the CMS world, there is still plenty of room for improving the EX too. I'll let the video speak for itself, but if you prefer an overview, then you can checkout Ivo's re-cap.

     

     

    By Bryan Ruby
    Posted June 03, 2015


 

 


 

Copyright CMS Report 2006 - 2015