RSS

Opinion and Editorial at CMS Report

  • A Look at WordPress and Drupal for Creating Websites

    A Look at WordPress and Drupal for Creating Websites

    It goes without saying that both WordPress and Drupal are two of the biggest open-source content management systems available today. It’s also well known that WordPress has garnered a bigger user base since its inception in 2003, with a current user base that’s nearly 10 times that of Drupal.

    Just like every other technical debate, there are proponents and opponents to each side. And for web designers who have yet to form an opinion or make a decision, there are compelling arguments for and against each platform. However, rather than consider popularity only, a wiser scheme might be to examine how each CMS performs against the key design factors, and then make the best decision for each client’s business, away from any personal biases.

    Ultimately, the debate can be condensed into the level of user skill. Drupal comes with more features, making it an awesome platform if you know how to navigate around it, but there is also a higher learning curve that some find frustrating. WordPress, on the other hand, is much simpler to navigate, use and customize, but has less features. Let’s examine a few factors in detail.

    By CMS Report
    Posted July 10, 2015

  • The Promising Future of the Internet of Things in India

    The Promising Future of the Internet of Things in India

    The Internet of Things (IoT) is lauded by most as the next great revolution in technology. A world where every object we use has a sensor, enabling it to connect to the internet so it can communicate with each other and the user is a world that seems like something out of science-fiction. With the Internet of Things fast approaching, that world could become a reality very soon. Experts estimate that the IoT market could be worth as much as $1.7 trillion by 2020, with more than 50 billion devices connecting to the IoT by that time. But where will much of that growth come from? The U.S. is always near the forefront of technological developments, and China is in the middle of a massive economic expansion, but some are saying India will be the place to look for IoT growth, even becoming the largest consumer of IoT devices in five years. While some dispute the claims, it’s clear the future is bright for the IoT in India.

    By Rick Delgado
    Posted July 10, 2015

  • Six Reasons Why Salesforce.com Cloud Solutions are Doing So Well

    Six Reasons Why Salesforce.com Cloud Solutions are Doing So Well

    As more and more businesses go for cloud computing, it is inevitable that many companies will offer cloud computing solutions. Salesforce.com is an industry leader when it comes to cloud computing solutions. There are several reasons for this.

    By CMS Report
    Posted July 01, 2015

  • Off Topic: Starting my Summer with the Blossom Smart Watering Controller

    Off Topic: Starting my Summer with the Blossom Smart Watering Controller

    Spring brought to South Dakota plenty of rain. The lawns are green, the flowers are in full bloom, and it seems we can't go beyond a couple days without a rain shower or thunderstorm. While water is usually plenty for my city, we do things smart around here and restrict water usage for our lawns year round. It's not uncommon in my part of the country to see the weather pattern quickly change from wet to dry. What once was green can turn brown in a hurry.

    If you want a green yard when summer is in full swing, you will do best to respect the water restrictions and program your sprinkler controller the smartest way possible. Here in my city, watering lawns is not allowed during the hours of 12 p.m to 5 PM. Homeowners with even-numbered addresses may water lawns on even-numbered calendar dates and users with odd-numbered addresses may water lawns on odd-numbered calendar dates. Last summer though, my traditional sprinkler controller decided this responsibility was too much of a burden. The failing controller couldn't even keep the time of day correctly yet alone maintain an ideal watering schedule. So this May, I replaced my failing controller with Blossom's Smart Watering Controller in hopes of a greener lawn and a better sprinkler system.

    By Bryan Ruby
    Posted June 24, 2015

  • Benefits and Downsides to Consider When Choosing an Open Source or Proprietary CMS

    Benefits and Downsides to Consider When Choosing an Open Source or Proprietary CMS

    The market has a wide variety of content management systems that have different capabilities. Some content management systems are designed with a particular end in mind.

    There are a lot of arguments for and against open source and proprietary CMSs. Depending on your budget abilities, the size of your company and rules governing compliance in your company, you might opt for a proprietary CMS. But if your organization is small, you might opt for an open source CMS.

    Below are more details on the pros and cons of both proprietary and open source CMSs.

    By CMS Report
    Posted June 10, 2015

  • The eZ Publish Show: Don't forget about Editor Experience

    The eZ Publish Show: Don't forget about Editor Experience

    Last week, we started a conversation on The ez Publish Show hosted by Netgen's Ivo Lukač. The we included Ivo, Digital Clarity's Marianne Kay and myself. The odd question that started the conversation: Did modern CMSs sacrifice good editor experience (EX) for improving customer experience?

    I'm not sure how well we answered the question, but it is a question that acknowledges that while CXM may get a lot of attention these days in the CMS world, there is still plenty of room for improving the EX too. I'll let the video speak for itself, but if you prefer an overview, then you can checkout Ivo's re-cap.

     

     

    By Bryan Ruby
    Posted June 03, 2015

  • Quoting IT: Multitasking is a Deceptive Ability

    Quoting IT: Multitasking is a Deceptive Ability

    "We think we’re being more efficient, killing multiple birds with a single, digital stone, yet leading social science research on the topic shows that multitasking actually makes us less efficient. What’s more, when it comes to human interaction, we slowly become conditioned to being less present for the people with whom we interact."

    - Kate Otto, "The Disconnectivity Paradox in the Modern Digital Age", Triple Pundit, May 26, 2015

    By CMS Report
    Posted May 27, 2015

  • 5 features of a modern CMS

    5 features of a modern CMS

    How are CMS vendors responding to the contemporary needs of the market to create a content-centric and context-relevant experience for their users?

    By Bojana Sekeljic
    Posted April 08, 2015

  • Moving to the Cloud? Take a Deep Dive for Full Benefit

    Moving to the Cloud? Take a Deep Dive for Full Benefit

    It’s likely clear to most companies by now that any realistic view of the future of the business world involves cloud computing in some way. It’s difficult to ignore the variety of benefits that come from adopting the cloud, including more productivity from employees, more business agility, and, of course, significant cost savings. Even with these advantages in mind, many companies still feel a reluctance to make the cloud part of their operations. A move to the cloud is certainly a significant change, one which should not be considered lightly. While many of these reluctant businesses won’t dispute the benefits of cloud computing, they may have trouble seeing how to maximize those benefits to make such a transition worth it. The answer is to take a “deep dive” into the cloud.

    By Rick Delgado
    Posted March 17, 2015

  • Thank the Cloud for the Rise of Big Data

    Thank the Cloud for the Rise of Big Data

    Big Data is changing the world. The ability to store, manage and extract actionable insights from vast and deep lakes of disparate data pouring in from multiple sources has transformed businesses, industries, and our lives.

    And for this we can thank the cloud.
    By Jonathan Buckley
    Posted March 12, 2015


 

 


 

Copyright CMS Report 2006 - 2015