Finalists in Packt's 2009 Open Source CMS Award announced

Packt Publishing Award 2009Yes, it's that time of year again. Packt Publishing recently announced the five finalists in each of the categories of its 2009 Open Source CMS Award. The Voting for the winners in each of the five categories ends on October 30, 2009.  This "public vote" will then be combined with votes by a panel of judges with the top three CMS and overall winners in each category to be announced on November 9, 2009.

This year, I will be participating as a judge for the Overall Open Source CMS Award. I have the honor of sharing the judging panel with John Resig of jQuery fame, Deane Barker of Gadgetopia and Blend Interactive, and Karen Coombs from Web Services at the University of Houston Libraries. I'm especially excited to be working with Deane Barker, a fellow Sioux Falls resident. Over the years, Deane and I have had some great discussions on content management systems. It will be interesting to find out whether we will be agreeing with each other or not on which CMS should be considered the top CMS for the Overall category.

Previous winners in the Overall category have included Drupal (2007, 2008) and  Joomla! (2006) as the overall winner. Previous winners of the Overall category are not eligible for the Overall category in 2009 as Packt Publishing apparently wanted to prevent the Overall category of being dominated by past winners. The good news is that both Drupal and Joomla are eligible to compete in the new Hall of Fame category and are also finalists in the Best Open Source PHP CMS category.

Overall Award Finalists:

  • DotNetNuke
  • MODx
  • SilverStripe
  • WordPress

Most Promising Open Source CMS Finalists:

  • ImpressCMS
  • Manhali
  • Pixie
  • Pligg
  • Redaxscript

Best Open Source PHP CMS Finalists:

  • Drupal
  • Joomla!
  • MODx
  • TYPOlight
  • WordPress

Best Other Open Source CMS Finalists:

  • DotNetNuke
  • dotCMS
  • mojoPortal
  • Plone
  • WebGUI